Modern Muse, our series celebrating accomplished, stylish, real women. In other words, women just like you.

With a natural passion for interior design, Beatrice Fischel-Bock is changing the way we can achieve a beautiful living space- all from the comfort of your home. Meet the CEO & Co-founder of the savvy interior design app, Hutch, and our latest Modern Muse.

[Bailey44:] Tell us about your background in interior design.  What sparked your interest and eventually led you to start your own company?

[Bea:] I come from a long line of design enthusiasts. My mother is an architect and artist so I grew up in a very creative home. Her mother’s house (my grandmother) is also creative and unique. Appreciating interior design and putting emphasis on its importance was the norm for me. When I went to college and ‘went out into the world’ I realized that it is not second nature to everybody. It’s actually something people struggle with. Anyone should be able to create a space that makes them feel good and so I realized I had to make something to help facilitate that idea.

What drove you to follow your dreams as a young woman?

I grew up always being told that if I work hard, anything is possible. My family held an emphasis on hard work and independence. This naturally made it easier to follow my dreams as I didn’t know any other way. I was also fortunate to have the support behind me to allow me to follow my dreams. Not all of us are that lucky.

What are the greatest challenges of running your own company?

It’s all challenging! That is probably what’s hardest. Learning to deal with the constant ups and downs of running a startup. You have to try and keep an even keel through every challenge that comes your way. Get through it and get ready for the next one.

_10A1201.jpg

What advice would you give a young woman looking to start her own business?

You have to start by just diving in and going for it. Don’t wait for funding, don’t wait for the right mentor. Just start. Your path will begin to reveal itself naturally. I always tell young women looking to start a business to print some business cards and buy a domain. Total cost: under $100. This first step helps to make something that is in your head more tangible and real.

As a co-founder, what’s your day-to-day involvement with the app?

As a co-founder, I am talking and brainstorming the product all the time! As CEO, my schedule makes my time a little more limited. I believe in finding people that you trust and giving them the ability to run with what they are doing. I want to be kept in the loop each step of the way but not micromanage!

What inspires Hutch’s interior design solutions?

Real life and trends. Our designers curate the latest and best in home but then we give YOU the tools to actually make what you like apply to your life and your home.

310A0661 1

Biggest highlights since launching the company?

The first big highlight was our first sale right after we finished building our app. Since then, I would probably have to say raising our rounds of funding. It legitimizes what we are working on and gives us access to people who have incredible business minds and careers (aka our investors).

What does the future look like for Hutch?

Hutch will be ubiquitous with furniture shopping. No one will purchase home decor and furniture for their space without using Hutch to help make their decision.

How do you tackle work/life balance?

I am very careful about burnout. It’s easy to get caught up in everything and consistently put yourself second, third or fourth (after work, family and friends). However, you’re not helpful to anyone in your work or personal life if you are not taking care of yourself. For me, this means working out, meditating and getting enough sleep. Also lots of snuggles with my dog!

_10A0756

Looking back on your life, what moments have defined you as a woman?

Meeting other incredible women that have shaped and defined who I am. Facing our careers and lives together and giving each other support along the way. Especially my co-founders Madeline and Lizzie.

Tell us about your relationship with personal style and how it’s evolved throughout your career.

Fashion and style has always been a big part of my life. I was that little kid who changed her bracelets every day to match different uniform top colors. People in high school used to poke fun and say “why do you try so hard” or “who are you trying to impress?” That never made sense to me because fashion is something creative and joyful in my daily routine. It would take me longer to figure out how to not be put together!

I did have a confusing period in my career. When I started in the tech world, I saw that everyone wore jeans, t-shirts and sneakers like a uniform. There aren’t a lot of women in the industry so I felt like I needed to do the same to fit in in order to be taken seriously. (My jeans and t-shirts were definitely more stylish than the others, but it was still pretty boring!).  I’ve now realized that being unique is NOT a bad thing!

If there was a Bea Fischel-Bock uniform, what would it look like?

I love black! So it would definitely be black jeans, black shirt, and subtle but fierce footwear. And of course, lots of bracelets. I haven’t seen my wrists in 12 years!

Who is your Modern Muse?

My younger sister. She just started working as a lawyer in London and she makes the “corporate” look and life look effortless and chic. She is in corporate law, which is something I deal with all the time with my business, but it’s something I could never do. I don’t have that kind of brain. She absolutely loves it and is killing it at her job. When you love what you do, it makes it that much easier to give it your all.

 

Leave a comment